Documentation for users switching to Annex and suggestions

Place where find documentation
ByteCounter

Documentation for users switching to Annex and suggestions

Post by ByteCounter »

Hello

I am just getting started with Annex and am on the journey of getting familiar with Annex32.

Annex 32 is from what I’ve seen, a unique and powerful product in the world of ESP development. The online flash tool makes it super easy to setup ESP32 boards. However, there are a few rough edges that I feel need to be addressed for Annex to really shine. Eveything below is intended as constructive criticism.

Little known product. The word needs to get out about Annex as a good option for microcontroller and Internet Of Things development. I feel a name change to make it clear that it is ESP related (Annex-ESP32) but yet retains the Annex product name for future/different microcontroller ports.

Unfinished website. The unfinished website kind of looks unprofessional and is way less developed than the product! This gives the wrong impression of the software.

Better resources for beginners and those wanting to explore/switch to Annex.
A quick start guide to using annex, covering online/offline flashing and basic operation on how to write programs using the editor, viewing serial debugging (print statements), troubleshooting, etc. I have been making my internal notes as part of the learning process but if there is interest I would like to help writing a user's guide for Annex.

Online flash tool to easily setup Annex on your ESP32 board
[Local Link Removed for Guests]
Use Edge or Chrome or Opera web browsers – WILL NOT WORK WITH FIREFOX
(You must have the ESP USB serial port drivers for your OS already installed)

Online Help file (will redirect to latest)

Online help file 1.51.8

Online Web Serial Terminal (AnnexTerm)

While the on-line documentation is helpful (is there newer than [Local Link Removed for Guests] ?) as someone new to Annex32 these were some of my challenges: