Is already into the TODO list[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Mon Dec 09, 2024 6:13 pm You could write us an onscreen keyboard![]()
Gui.Gettext function
- cicciocb
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2800
- Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
- Location: Toulouse
- Has thanked: 594 times
- Been thanked: 2008 times
- Contact:
Re: Gui.Gettext function
- cicciocb
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2800
- Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
- Location: Toulouse
- Has thanked: 594 times
- Been thanked: 2008 times
- Contact:
Re: Gui.Gettext function
You can eventually use an external BLE keyboard or USB keyboard if you are using the ESP32-S3
- cicciocb
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2800
- Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
- Location: Toulouse
- Has thanked: 594 times
- Been thanked: 2008 times
- Contact:
Re: Gui.Gettext function
What is the module that you are using ? ESP32 classic or ESP32-S3?[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Mon Dec 09, 2024 6:13 pm You could write us an onscreen keyboard![]()
edit:
I implemented the tft.gettext and the tft.textarea functions ... if you want try just let me know what is the version that you are using so that I can export the right .bin
Re: Gui.Gettext function
Thanks, you're the best. That'll make things much easier for me.
I'm always switching between several boards, but at the moment I'm using an ESP32-2432S028, so standard ESP32 without PSRAM.
I'm always switching between several boards, but at the moment I'm using an ESP32-2432S028, so standard ESP32 without PSRAM.
Re: Gui.Gettext function
Oh, and one question: Is there a way to find out how many characters fit into the textarea, resp. how many it has been able to display?
- cicciocb
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2800
- Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
- Location: Toulouse
- Has thanked: 594 times
- Been thanked: 2008 times
- Contact:
Re: Gui.Gettext function
I've just updated the version 1.70.5 that contains the following fixes :
Code: [Local Link Removed for Guests]
Version 1.70.5
- Fixex onUrlMessage event
TFT
- Implemented gui.textarea (same syntax as the VGAGUI.TEXTAREA)
- Fixed the repetitive event on button when the text changes inside
- Implemented GUI.GetText (same as VGAGUI.GETTEXT)
- Implemented GUI.Visible obj, visible (0=hidden, 1=shown)
No, this info is not avalable but could be implemented[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Tue Dec 10, 2024 8:13 am Oh, and one question: Is there a way to find out how many characters fit into the textarea, resp. how many it has been able to display?
Re: Gui.Gettext function
Nice, thank you.
You could simply cut off the text when it is longer than the textarea can display, and then the user can just call len(GUI.GetText(textfieldhandle)).No, this info is not avalable but could be implemented
-
- Posts: 525
- Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 2:17 pm
- Location: South coast UK
- Has thanked: 296 times
- Been thanked: 165 times
Re: Gui.Gettext function
I think what you are describing is what I know as a "state engine".[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Mon Dec 09, 2024 5:17 pm ... is there a possibility to tell a subroutine who called it, and what to call when it closes?
Like an addressof (subroutinelabel) function, and a gosub address?
...
The caller assigns a value to a 'state' variable. Hence, the sub knows who called it.
Also, (somebody correct me if I have this wrong) subroutines can be called by using a string to hold the name. An array of strings could enable calling subroutines by variable value. A similar function could also be structured within a select/case function.
Maybe not exactly what you are after but a potential workaround?