New editor "Running / stopped / paused" status

The Annex CNN channel
User avatar
Electroguard
Posts: 924
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 6:22 pm
Has thanked: 305 times
Been thanked: 339 times

Re: New editor "Running / stopped / paused" status

Post by Electroguard »

And you mentioned icons - well I suppose you could actually use media player icons for Start/Stop, Pause/Unpause
User avatar
cicciocb
Site Admin
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
Location: Toulouse
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 1443 times
Contact:

Re: New editor "Running / stopped / paused" status

Post by cicciocb »

Yes, I already tried and is much simpler, and, as alternative, a simple message "running, stopped, paused" somewhere on the screen.
(I already tested both).

The problem is that I don't know where place the icon on the page, I think that it is already too busy and the the typical user of Annex is either already blind or is in the process of becoming blind (including myself). :lol:

I think that things must be as simple as possible, within the limits of the possible.

Probably the best is simply leave the buttons as is and add an extra info on the screen (but big and visible)
User avatar
Electroguard
Posts: 924
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 6:22 pm
Has thanked: 305 times
Been thanked: 339 times

Re: New editor "Running / stopped / paused" status

Post by Electroguard »

I tried re-arranging buttons according to category groups.
The last 3 are showing their alternatives
I deliberately left them in a slightly different colour lined box to differentiate the file buttons from the program buttons.
I also deliberately left the end of the original button row visible to show that the new one is shorter cos has 1 button less.
Hope it helps with ideas...

buttons.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Electroguard
Posts: 924
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 6:22 pm
Has thanked: 305 times
Been thanked: 339 times

Re: New editor "Running / stopped / paused" status

Post by Electroguard »

I misunderstood your comment about where to place the icons on the page - I thought you were referring to the header bar, but now realise you were speaking about the toolbar below it... cos of its small icons.
But it does show that Run, Stop, Pause and Unpause icons could actually be self-explanatory without text, if wished.

buttons2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
cicciocb
Site Admin
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
Location: Toulouse
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 1443 times
Contact:

Re: New editor "Running / stopped / paused" status

Post by cicciocb »

Seen the strong involvement of the community, always force of proposition :lol: I close this post and I'll open another one with the updated editor interface that will be available in the next version.
User avatar
Electroguard
Posts: 924
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 6:22 pm
Has thanked: 305 times
Been thanked: 339 times

Re: New editor "Running / stopped / paused" status

Post by Electroguard »

As a passing thought, a Run/Stop status button could actually have a 3rd state to show if the script has stopped on Error, which could be cleared to green Run after edits are saved.


Edit: just seen after posting this that you've already done it !

buttons2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Post Reply