ESP32 reboots every seconds with 1.43 CAN BLE

Here we can discuss about the problem found
Post Reply
FrankM
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 2:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

ESP32 reboots every seconds with 1.43 CAN BLE

Post by FrankM »

Hello,

I tried my program used for solar thermie because of its bigger memory on an ESP32, flashed it with the actual annex bin and put my program as well as the associated files on it.
Then the program worked for a minute or so and after that it began to boot always.
In the serial monitor I found the following message:

Guru Meditation Error: Core 1 panic'ed (IllegalInstruction). Exception was unhandled.
Core 1 register dump:

PC : 0x63615e01 PS : 0x00060430 A0 : 0x800ea711 A1 : 0x3ffcee20
A2 : 0x3ffcef5c A3 : 0x63615e01 A4 : 0x3ffc6008 A5 : 0xf4b332d3
A6 : 0x3ffcef60 A7 : 0x3ffcefcc A8 : 0x801058b0 A9 : 0x3ffcee00
A10 : 0x3ffe384c A11 : 0x3ffcee74 A12 : 0x000000ff A13 : 0x0000ff00
A14 : 0x00ff0000 A15 : 0xff000000 SAR : 0x0000000a EXCCAUSE: 0x00000000
EXCVADDR: 0x00000000 LBEG : 0x400013f9 LEND : 0x4000140d LCOUNT : 0xfffffffe

Backtrace: 0x63615e01:0x3ffcee20 0x400ea70e:0x3ffcee40 0x400e1a9f:0x3ffcf040 0x400e63b8:0x3ffcf060 0x400e66bf:0x3ffcf090 0x400e689c:0x3ffcf0c0 0x400e8786:0x3ffcf0f0 0x400f5d62:0x3ffcf120 0x400f650b:0x3ffcf180 0x400f66f1:0x3ffcf200 0x401486dd:0x3ffcf240 0x40091e31:0x3ffcf260

The Annex toolkit shows the following device informations:
Detecting chip type... ESP32
Chip is ESP32D0WDQ6 (revision 1)
Features: WiFi, BT, Dual Core, 240MHz, VRef calibration in efuse, Coding Scheme None
MAC: 98:f4:ab:67:d6:b8
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
16 (100 %)
16 (100 %)

Has anybody an idea, what to do?

Thank you

Frank Martens
User avatar
PeterN
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:56 pm
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 75 times
Contact:

Re: ESP32 reboots every seconds with 1.43 CAN BLE

Post by PeterN »

Hello Frank,

can you give more information about your hardware/ module and your GPIO wiring?

I'm thinking of problems I've had with different schematics:
Have you selected the appropriate firmware settings for your hardware on the Config page? Meanwhile there are different esp32 modules which can be selected from a list.

Is the same behavior observed when no peripheral is connected to the IO pins?
There are some ESP32 pins that have special functions at startup and can be pulled up or down by your peripherals while the system is booting.
FrankM
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 2:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: ESP32 reboots every seconds with 1.43 CAN BLE

Post by FrankM »

Hello PeterN,

thank you for your reply:

the board is a ESP-WROOM32, bought from az-delivery some month ago.
The TFT (160*128, 1,77'' - also from az-delivery) is connected as it is described in the Annex help version 1.43 for ST7735, in the config page I have tried the number #2 as best.
Other GPIO's than for the TFT are not connected.
The board is connected by USB to my PC - otherwise I wouldn't have seen the messages of the serial monitor.

After I have seen the errors with re-booting every some minutes, I flashed the whole module again, but this gave no other behavior.

So, perhaps the module may be of minor quality, but other example programs did not have this behavior.

Thank you for further ideas!

Frank Martens
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Electroguard
Posts: 277
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 6:22 pm
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 129 times

Re: ESP32 reboots every seconds with 1.43 CAN BLE

Post by Electroguard »

Hi,
Perhaps be best to fix your network configuration before looking for other problems.
Specifying a logon name and password means you wish the node to connect to a router and join the routers subnet.
Which means the default gateway will be the address of the router where all your messages will go for routing onwards.
If you wish to specify a local IP address (rather than obtain a dhcp address from the router), it must be a valid unused IP address on the routers subnet, and you must also specify the subnet mask (usually 255.255.255.0).
Importantly, the default gateway is the routers address, so you cannot specify that also as the local IP address, else the local node will try to speak to itself and be unable to connect to the router to send or receive anything
If 192.168.44.1 is your valid default gateway router, specify something different as a local node IP address.
And if 192.168.44.1 is not also a valid NTP server it will probably add to the confusion.
AndyGadget
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 1:44 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 81 times

Re: ESP32 reboots every seconds with 1.43 CAN BLE

Post by AndyGadget »

Hi Frank.
As well as what Peter and Electroguard advise, try running the board from a decent USB phone charger or other 5V source using a different USB lead and see if the resets still occur. I've occasionally had problems which could be put down to power supply niggles.
User avatar
PeterN
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:56 pm
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 75 times
Contact:

Re: ESP32 reboots every seconds with 1.43 CAN BLE

Post by PeterN »

Good morning

Seeing your screenshots now I agree with electroguard that the manually set network configuration is most likely the reason for the confusion.
This creates some interesting loops and will definitely cause at least one problem if the system regularly tries to synchronize the time
Assuming that you are in a standard WIFi leave IP-Adress, default-gateway and NTP-server empty

Good luck!
cicciocb
Site Admin
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
Location: Toulouse
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 297 times
Contact:

Re: ESP32 reboots every seconds with 1.43 CAN BLE

Post by cicciocb »

Hi Franck,
the problem is probably inside your program, I mean that there is a bug inside a command / function that crashes your program.

I suggest to update the ESP32 at the latest annex32 version (1.43.5) and test again/
Post Reply