Page 2 of 2

Re: Using ESP8266 as an access point

Posted: Mon May 17, 2021 10:41 am
by cicciocb
You could try to use the AP+STA mode.

Check in the help for more details but, basically, you should config your module in AP mode and then connect it in STA mode in the code.

Probably there still will be a problem on the IP addresses .....

Re: Using ESP8266 as an access point

Posted: Mon May 17, 2021 11:04 am
by ulli
Hi cicciocb,

exactly, IP address is the problem. Maybe it's a good idea to change two commands:

WIFI.APMODE SSID$, password$ [, channel] to WIFI.APMODE SSID$, password$ [, IP address, mask]
and
WIFI.CONNECT SSID$, password$ [, BSSID$] to WIFI.CONNECT SSID$, password$ [, IP address, mask [,gateway]]

instead of IP address, mask the notation IPaddress/mask length might be easier.

Cheers

Ulli

Re: Using ESP8266 as an access point

Posted: Mon May 17, 2021 1:38 pm
by cicciocb
[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Mon May 17, 2021 11:04 am Hi cicciocb,

exactly, IP address is the problem. Maybe it's a good idea to change two commands:

WIFI.APMODE SSID$, password$ [, channel] to WIFI.APMODE SSID$, password$ [, IP address, mask]
and
WIFI.CONNECT SSID$, password$ [, BSSID$] to WIFI.CONNECT SSID$, password$ [, IP address, mask [,gateway]]

instead of IP address, mask the notation IPaddress/mask length might be easier.

Cheers

Ulli
Yes, it is already in the todo list :D

Re: Using ESP8266 as an access point

Posted: Mon May 17, 2021 1:58 pm
by ulli
Hi cicciocb,

great news!

Can't wait to have it.

Thanks

Ulli