Using ESP8266 as an access point

Code tips and tricks for beginners
cicciocb
Site Admin
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
Location: Toulouse
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 197 times
Contact:

Re: Using ESP8266 as an access point

Post by cicciocb »

You could try to use the AP+STA mode.

Check in the help for more details but, basically, you should config your module in AP mode and then connect it in STA mode in the code.

Probably there still will be a problem on the IP addresses .....
ulli
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 9:48 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Using ESP8266 as an access point

Post by ulli »

Hi cicciocb,

exactly, IP address is the problem. Maybe it's a good idea to change two commands:

WIFI.APMODE SSID$, password$ [, channel] to WIFI.APMODE SSID$, password$ [, IP address, mask]
and
WIFI.CONNECT SSID$, password$ [, BSSID$] to WIFI.CONNECT SSID$, password$ [, IP address, mask [,gateway]]

instead of IP address, mask the notation IPaddress/mask length might be easier.

Cheers

Ulli
cicciocb
Site Admin
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:15 pm
Location: Toulouse
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 197 times
Contact:

Re: Using ESP8266 as an access point

Post by cicciocb »

[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]Mon May 17, 2021 11:04 am Hi cicciocb,

exactly, IP address is the problem. Maybe it's a good idea to change two commands:

WIFI.APMODE SSID$, password$ [, channel] to WIFI.APMODE SSID$, password$ [, IP address, mask]
and
WIFI.CONNECT SSID$, password$ [, BSSID$] to WIFI.CONNECT SSID$, password$ [, IP address, mask [,gateway]]

instead of IP address, mask the notation IPaddress/mask length might be easier.

Cheers

Ulli
Yes, it is already in the todo list :D
ulli
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 9:48 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Using ESP8266 as an access point

Post by ulli »

Hi cicciocb,

great news!

Can't wait to have it.

Thanks

Ulli
Post Reply