Error trying to flash ESP-32 board

All that relates to the Annex Toolkit Utility
ebs

Error trying to flash ESP-32 board

Post by ebs »

Hi - I'm brand new to EPS-32 and Annex, so please excuse any obviously dumb questions...

I just got one of these ESP-32 boards, with an ESP-WROOM-32 and an OLED display:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07SN3GJ2R

I read the module info and got this:
module.jpg
I had to hold down the "Boot" button to connect to the module.

Then I tried to flash firmware (Annex32) + data (full) and got this error:
error.jpg

I attached screenshots of both messages. Can anyone tell me what's wrong?
Does it make sense that it says "Chip is ESP8255EX" when it said "Module is ESP32" when I read the info?

Thank you!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cicciocb
Site Admin

Re: Error trying to flash ESP-32 board

Post by cicciocb »

What you are doing is simply clicking on the wrong button.

You must use this button:
image.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ebs

Post by ebs »

Yes, I finally figured that out - I told you I might ask dumb questions!

I successfully flashed the EPS-32 module and experimented with a number of the demo programs, including the WiFi scan, basic HTML and OLED programs. I'm amazed that you were able to fit a full BASIC interpreter, device libraries, and an editor/IDE into the ESP-32 - that's very impressive.

I determined that the OLED on the board uses pins 5 and 4 for the I2C bus; my next task is to connect an I2C DAC board and get speech synthesis working.

Thank you for your fast response to my dumb question! ;)

Regards,
Eric
cicciocb
Site Admin

Post by cicciocb »

You can simply use the output on the pin 25 and 26 for the audio output without external dac.
ebs

Post by ebs »

Thanks for the audio information. I was hoping to get higher quality audio by using the I2C DAC.