Internet access without port forwarding?

If doesn't fit into any other category ....
Zim

Internet access without port forwarding?

Post by Zim »

Hi Gents
What would be required to access a device without using port forwarding? Is there a application that can be run from your own domain?
I would like to stay away from 3rd party stuff.
I have limited knowledge in such topics...

Thanks
Zim
Electroguard

Re: Internet access without port forwarding?

Post by Electroguard »

Some points to clarify…
"Access a device without port forwarding" presumably means to access a device on your premises from somewhere outside on the internet?
"Run an application from your own domain" could mean running your own domain servers, if so, then what? (HTTP, VPN, FTP, MQTT, etc) and where? (at home, in the cloud). Or it could mean running a dynamic DNS client app locally to notify a dynamic DNS service of changes to your dynamic IP address.

If you have internet access at home then obviously so can any of your devices.
But the important point to realise is that all outgoing internet connections (to anywhere and everywhere) are all instigated locally from on your property. And they only connect somewhere because the target location has a server waiting at the target IP address with a specific port open waiting to service your type of incoming call.

Now switch your point of view... to receive incoming connections on your property from the internet would need to host a server at home with a reachable IP address and an open port number waiting for incoming connections from outside.
Which would require port-forwarding of incoming calls to that IP address and port number of the waiting server.

Technically you could host your own off-site servers elsewhere, which you could connect to with outgoing connections from your property to avoid having to accept incoming connections, but it requires a 3rd party and serious commitment.